PART 10 – THE NEW ‘TEST PIECES’ WALK IN…

Posted: July 16, 2009 in My life at xime...
Tags: ,

“Baiyya, ek cover dhoot de dho” one among a group of boys asked the shop keeper. They all were talking animatedly about their classes … Yes, those were the new test pieces of XIME… the ‘Just Joined’… & enjoying their honeymoon time!!!

It was around 9.15 pm and I was returning to my room after my work at Print Point. That was the last week of my summer internship. Usually I worked there till 10 or 10.30 pm. Not because anyone compelled, but because I just loved that place…

The shop keeper eyed me with a smile… It was not hard to understand what he meant “Look, your preys have arrived” I just stood there like a stranger… However I noted the champ who drank one cover of raw ‘Nandini’ milk…

Probably some of them must have felt the same thing that I had felt one year back, when our seniors walked into the campus… Anyway, we didn’t break the custom of welcoming them … The usual ‘harmless’ ragging session followed… Then again the customary ragging sessions for ‘boys only’ in the hostel gym… All these were meant to be fun and these never went beyond a limit…

But some of the guys in our batch, or say some prodigal kids, took it to a different dimension. They called some of the juniors to their rooms on a daily basis for a week or two and ragged them. Now the problem is that, these ‘victims’ will do the same thing in the coming years and it might go on… & gradually, it might become a ritual … Just because of the immaturity of these idiot kids of our batch, the future generation is going to suffer!!!

*****

Our etiquettes Professor was back after a long time (induction classes)… This time he taught us Global Economics Environment. We missed his ‘masterpiece’ demonstrations; but, any day, his classes were fun and harmless except for the marks & loads of assignments he gave…

“Can you locate Papua New Guinea here in this world map?” he asked a student pointing a stick to the World map which was pasted on the wall…

That guy started searching for that place, frantically …

“That place sounds like ‘chicken gunia’ to me. What’s so special about that place? He always talks about that place!” Kadavanthara whispered to me…

“Yes, Mr. Kadavanthara, do you want to locate ‘Saint Petersburg’ here?” Professor’s ears were sharp, I guess.

Kadavanthara had been to Russia once and had some ‘bitter’ experiences when he was at Saint Petersburg. However that ‘bitter’ experience of Kadavanthara sounded funny to us… as a matter of fact, to all, except him… I think it still haunts him!!!

“No sir. I am fine. Thank you” he shrugged.

I had a hard time controlling my laugh. But I kept looking down as I didn’t want him to ask me to locate some weird places on that huge map…

Well, he was a very pleasant person and was very famous for his diplomatic words. His presence in the college itself was a great credit to the college as he was a very eminent persona. However, his evaluation pattern was bit different. Like many others, I shared the opinion that he evaluates a student on basis of his perception….

The campus was very lively for the first two weeks mainly because of the new arrivals. Beautiful chics were surrounded by our aspiring managers! Many relations and brand new couples popped up from here and there.

In point of fact, it was green everywhere except in my world….

I wasn’t concerned about anything except my studies as I knew well that if I didn’t do well, I would be stuck up in that jungle for an extra time. I couldn’t even have dreamt about that!!! So I tried to think that every class was interesting… that every lecture was a boon… I began doing my homework regularly and what more; I used to sit in the first bench!!!

“Hey Amal, what happened to you these days! You are not sleeping in the class!!!”

That was my classmate, Sau. She was a nice friend and was one of the most studious and hardworking girls in our batch… but many times I felt that she gave me the toughest competition in terms of ‘sleeping in the class’…

Also, we never used to miss a chance to tease each other on the same, but on a lighter note.

“May be you should start taking sleeping pills from now” she laughed as she said that.

“Well, nothing Sau… just thought of concentrating a bit on studies. You know, trouble times… Can’t afford to compete with you like it used to be” I smiled as I said.

“Ya… I appreciate it… Although it’s a big surprise to see you not sleeping in the class!” she said pensively.

***

Sacrifices have a great role to play in one’s life… You can’t conquer everything… Those who attempted collected their lessons before departing… History says it all… “The choice you make today, determines your destiny …”

The fourth term was different… I was different… When the whole world was out there in the snow enjoying their time, I stayed inside… I ignored the snowballs that came to my room through the window. I pretended that there was no world outside… I told myself that, that was my world…

Little I knew then that I was changing rapidly… that I was losing many things in the campus, that I was missing out the real fun…

But when I look at it now… I would define it in this way: ‘U cannot gain anything without sacrificing something…’ In economics, they call it ‘Opportunity Cost’… And that was my 3rd lesson!


To go back to the main page:

https://lapillus.wordpress.com/its-my-life/

To read the previous chapter:

https://lapillus.wordpress.com/2009/07/13/part-9-%e2%80%93-crashed-into-the-rock-bottom/

To the next chapter:

https://lapillus.wordpress.com/2009/07/20/part-11-%e2%80%93-the-devil-named-%e2%80%98recession%e2%80%99%e2%80%a6/

Comments
  1. […] https://lapillus.wordpress.com/2009/07/16/part-10-%e2%80%93-the-new-%e2%80%98test-pieces%e2%80%99-wal… Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)Brand Your BusinessComing up: BlackInformant.com book review–”From The Heart: Seven Rules …Magazine publisher abandons gay lifestlyeThe dying goodwill toward AT&T […]

  2. Rose says:

    i can guess who was that professor……………….. i doubt one thing…………….. who was the actual prey? whether 13 or 14? because according to my view u might have become preys for them………………………………………….. may be inside the campus i have seen ur batch with less energy level………………….. and them in very high level……………………(just joking, dont take it seriously……………….)

  3. Rose says:

    SACRIFICE…………… big thing……………..most of them dont want to learn that WORD………………….. including me………………….

    good !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!that u learned to GAIN UR CGPA

  4. faraz says:

    oohhh man, i can never forget those classes….. n that poor guy was me who was askd to search papua….. in the map n i still donno where that place is..lol… but those clases were interesting n at the same time we have gaind a lot from him.

Leave a Reply

