PART 12 – THE ROYAL FEAT!!!

Posted: July 23, 2009 in My life at xime...
Tags: ,

The winter vacation was, again, fun filled… Like last time, we three met up and discussed the plan. It was a one day trip last time and we felt that it was too short. So we decided to organize a two day trip…

“How about Ooty or Kodaikanal?” Irvin asked…

That was a great suggestion but we opted that out as we felt that it would take a long ride to reach there. We listed out some of the places where we wished to go… I guess almost every place were there in that list! However we did strike one by one out from that long list and finally it left us with the place we wanted…

On 26th December 2008, my friends and I headed towards Munnar, a hill station in Kerala… and one of the heavenly places in ‘God’s own country’. We knew that it required a long drive to reach there… probably somewhere around 7 or 8 hours drive… So we hired a car this time. We booked a Black Boleno, a Maruthi product and fortunately that car had a fancy number too…

I was thinking about a nice and relaxed journey. But once Irvin started the car, I felt that the term ‘relaxed’ never existed… Many times I felt that I would crash through the roof and make it to outer space!!! Seatbelts, of course, had limits!!!

“Hey, somebody take the photo of this dashboard. It again crossed 160km/hr…” Irvin shouted.  I was sure that it was great fun to him and he was thrilled and excited beyond words… but, the others…!!!

Lloyd was busy giving instructions to Irvin about the directions and side roads and also the other vehicles following us… Alex was trying hard to take a photo of the dashboard, but it was damn difficult to balance or steady oneself inside that car then…

Finally he slowed down when we reached the base of the hill. From there it was another 2 hours journey to the top…

It was around 11pm and the roads looked very deserted… Dead silence prevailed all over. The ride was not easy as the roads were steep and curved… The sign boards planted at various spots were the solitary guiding souls…

The Boleno sped through the curvy road ripping the darkness apart. The only sounds I heard were those of engine and of the wild owls… The mysterious woods shot back a threatening look as the car’s headlights struck them… making it clear to us that they didn’t like our intrusion at that hour of darkness … I couldn’t prevent myself from imagining how bizarre or dreadful that place would have looked some centuries before…

We reached there by around mid night to be received by the most chilling time of the night. It was freezing cold there. Later we realized that the temperature went far below 4 degree Celsius during that night…

We made a mistake by not reserving the hotels or rooms and we had to pay massively for that blunder. We thought it would be easy to find rooms there. But it was Christmas vacation and the rush was unbelievable… No matter where we knocked, the reply was the same… ‘Sorry, no vacancy!’…

Finally we gave up as the cold was unbearable and we decided to go ahead with the last option…

We spend the rest of the night in our car!!!

When I woke up with the sun in the morning, I had a sneaking suspicion that I was in some eternal world as I couldn’t feel my body… I thought I was frozen to dead last night itself… Numbness had seized me, completely… It took me a long time before I could sense my body again…

With the help of some locals we managed to find a dormitory soon enough… And I was so happy to see a bed!

I don’t think we let pass anything Munnar offered… The hills, the wild life, fresh strawberries, sweet carrots, homemade chocolates, tea estates, cashews, fruits, beautiful hill stations and everything… It was a marvelous banquet for both eyes and soul…

The ride back was dreadful as it was Lloyd’s turn on the steering wheels… his turn to display his driving skills… Unfortunately, he was not that keen on displaying his skills on the dashboard but on the ‘drifting’ skills… that too on those dangerous hair pin roads… Alex and I, together, would have cursed the EA Sports a thousand times for making that stupid ‘NFS’ game…

I must say that a considerable part of that journey was filled with excitement and uncertainty… The ‘excitement’ part lingered only for few minutes and soon it became a nuisance as I was thrown up and down or left and right according to the ‘drifting’ of car… But this apart, the trip was fabulous… We all enjoyed to the core.

****

The 6th term classes had commenced on the 3rd week of January and unlike other terms, it had a dull start! May be because it was the last term … anyway students were relaxed and chilled out. Most of them were set to enjoy their last few months in XIME. Even I thought I should take a break… I started going to gym again…

It was during the last week of January, that XIME organized the BRICS (Brazil, Russia, India, China, and South Africa) International Conference… It was held at our XIME campus, Bangalore. That conference was one of the supreme laurels that XIME had added to its name during that academic year. It was also considered as our president’s greatest initiatives, for the welfare of XIME, of all time…

Another event, but the most significant one, everyone looked forward to was the placement week. Surprisingly, our placement week was scheduled on 22nd February 2009. Yes, very late when compared to most other colleges in our country! It was delayed just because of one man’s persistence. He insisted on that date and also boasted to everyone, including the media, on that. He was confident that it would bring in companies to the campus… but!

As a matter of fact, our placement week was a complete flop. Not even 20 students were placed during that week. Most of the companies declined our invitation to visit our campus for placements…

“we started hiring long back. You should have let us come there months before!!!” that was their response…

Now in July, the total number of students placed is 78 out of 113. Also the average salary plummeted to a different level, far less than last year’s figure! Recession, also, played its part well here.  

However, I am not saying that we all would have been placed in case we had started our placements long back in September or October like most other colleges.  Recession took its full form only after September. Some of the students who got selected at that time received apology letters from the company, later, when the recession hit them with full might. Then again such unfortunate incidents happened only to a few. In my personal opinion, it should have been lot better if we had started our placements long back. All my batch mates too share the same opinion…

***

We had lot of time in the last trimester as there was less number of core subjects. More over everyone gave importance to the placements. So the classes were fun and short too.

Like most others, I spend my extra time sleeping or watching movies or reading books. I started visiting gym regularly and I was so happy about it… I was enjoying my life there. One evening, when I was sleeping peacefully in my bed, my mobile rang… It was Neethu, my classmate.

“Will you treat me if I pass a grand news to you?”

Well, Neethu is a different person… I don’t think there is any word like ‘rest’ or ‘relax’ in her dictionary. She would be working 24/7, but for others… Many times I felt that she would, someday, become someone like ‘Mother Teresa’…

Yet she always had time for her friends… a nice and reliable friend, she is… and one of my good friends…

“Alright, you got it kido… Now tell me the news…”

I said… But the news she passed to me was something which I would never forget. It changed my life in XIME…

“U scored a GPA of 6+… And your CGPA shot well above 5!”

I didn’t speak for some time. I was so happy. I felt I was floating among the white clouds…

I got up and walked to college to see the result myself.

GPA of 6.18 …

That was something great… And my CGPA has moved to 5.16… Yes, the dark clouds hovering above my head had disappeared completely.

‘I can relax….  Also I can enjoy the rest of my days…’ I knew…  

Yes, it was a royal feat…

 

To go back to the main page:

https://lapillus.wordpress.com/its-my-life/

To read the previous chapter:

https://lapillus.wordpress.com/2009/07/20/part-11-%E2%80%93-the-devil-named-%E2%80%98recession%E2%80%99%E2%80%A6/

To the next chapter:

https://lapillus.wordpress.com/2009/07/28/part-13-%e2%80%93-the-batch-13-farewell-%e2%80%a6/

Comments
  1. Rose says:

    great news of CGPA 6.18!!!!!!!!!!!!! trip, placement , recession written wonderfully…………….

  2. Rose says:

    any how 78 got placed na……………….THANK GOD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  3. Deepthi says:

    That is a motivation for me…. I got to score the same way 🙂

  4. Neethu says:

    O M G !!! ok now this was too much. mother teresa??? itrem poono??? hehehehe

Leave a Reply

