PART 13 – THE BATCH 13 FAREWELL …

Posted: July 28, 2009 in My life at xime...
Tags: , , ,

If there is something which is constant in life, then it is the ‘change’. It’s an old saying, but holds truth. Changes are an integral part of life… and of XIME too.

The main topic that was discussed in the college during those days was ‘placements’. Recession was at its peak. Newspapers were loaded with the news on ‘unemployment’ and ‘pink slips’. Most of the companies had already shifted to ‘firing’ mode by then. The remaining ones… did put a sudden halt to their selection process…  

“Sorry we froze our recruitments indefinitely!”….  

“We will get back to you once we have openings!”…

These were the common feedback that we got when we approached the companies for job.  Well, we can’t blame them too. They were struggling for contracts and had hard time taking the business forward. Infact, they were looking for new ways of cost cutting and the concept of ‘hiring’ suddenly seemed to become a taboo everywhere.

Now the second topic that was hot in the campus was about the faculty. Almost everyone was leaving… But that wasn’t a surprise for us as we were used to those kinds of changes…

I still remember the chaos that prevailed during the second trimester when they had difficulty in fixing an economics teacher for us… Three teachers came to teach that subject for us, that too in a span of three months, and nobody stayed for more than a month…

For some reason, they never did stick much with the college. Sometimes I felt that it was a serious drawback as it failed to build a bonding relationship between faculty and student! Usually most of the colleges encourage that… Unfortunately, here the Management, Faculty & Students seemed to walk three different roads!

***

Days passed by… Bangalore was getting ready to welcome the summer season. The days gradually became warmer…

One fine day we came to know that the schedule for final exams was put up. But most of the students were not serious about it that time. One reason was that the most of them had secured a decent CGPA by then and they knew that it wouldn’t go below 5 unless they screw it up big time. The other reason was that they were keen about blasting the last few days of their school life. So that approach of the majority threw an opportunity for the low CGPA scorers to score their maximum… That was their chance to go way up the ladder… that too just by putting a little bit effort.

“Oh man! 4 more nights and we are done with this crap” Inder said irritated, on the night before the first exam….

“True… and then no more exams… wow… final exams of our life…” with that I started dreaming…

I think it is a worldwide phenomenon…  Students eagerly wait for the last exam since the beginning of their exams and a part of their time goes into planning or dreaming on the programs for the ‘last day’. And when the last exam gets over, they are at a complete loss… They suddenly have all the time in the world and… and they simply don’t know what to do with that!!!

I can’t forget the last exam. It was ‘cross cultural management’. The paper was short and easy too. So I completed it in less than an hour. Soon I tied the paper and kept it along with the pen on the desk. The professor who was in charge of invigilation was the same one who helped me with the tour program…

“If u have finished, you can leave the hall, Amal” he suggested…

But I just smiled back…

I didn’t want to leave the hall that early. I knew that it was, most probably, the last school exam of my life. I wasn’t sure whether I was happy or sad at that time… I guess, a mix of both. I looked around. Everyone was busy writing… For most of them, that was the last school exam of their life…

I sat there thinking for another 15 more minutes. Many thoughts flashed through my mind. I thought about my engineering exams… then about the first year exams at XIME and even the previous mid-term exams… It looked as if all those had happened just a few days or hours ago… It was weird…

‘Enough’… finally I said to myself… breaking the chain of thoughts…

I handed over the paper to our professor and thanked him.

“This is my last exam. I just wanted to ensure that I remember this all throughout my life. That’s why I stayed back even after finishing the exam.”

He didn’t say anything, but just gave a smile back and nodded pensively… I was sure that he understood me.

That was on on April 11th 2009…

***

The management extended our hostel stay for another 20 more days as our placements had not reached anywhere. That was a great move from their part even though they didn’t do much about the placements except giving ‘empty’ promises…

Those who were not placed stayed back… But, those who were already placed by then had started leaving…  

“Are you going home this week?” Vijayanand asked me…

“Ya, may be this weekend… but just for a couple of days…”

“I guess Inder is leaving on 14th morning… seems Pulusan too is leaving soon…”

“Ya, I know…” I looked outside through the window… The clouds were thick and dark…

We always had dreamt about a great farewell… All leaving together, happily …to a new bright world… but…

But things were different… It wasn’t the way we wanted…

“Keep in touch buddy. I’ll meet you on the convocation day… Also, Good luck with your job hunt” said Inder, before leaving to his hometown on 14th morning…

His cab was waiting outside and it was chilling cold at 4.30 in the morning… We helped him with his luggage…

“Take care… okay… and be cool” he was sad. He tried to cover it with a smile but it failed to deceive his close friends…

Vijayanand and I bid farewell to him… Even though we knew that we would meet him again on the convocation day, we were very sad when he left…

We walked back to our room, room no.13, the room where we spend some of the happiest days of our student life…, but spoke nothing on the way… We knew that it would never be the same again… That wonderful life no longer belonged to us anymore… and never would again…

The corridors we walked, the courts where we played, the rooms where we lived together, the classes where we learned, the mess where we ate, the auditorium where we assembled, the 120 ‘seater’ where we gathered for guest lectures, the basket ball court where we got together during birthday celebrations, the quadrangle where we partied, the garden where we relaxed, the steps where we sat in the evenings and all there in XIME would soon belong to someone else… to the new generation… Nothing could have been done about it then or later…

That’s how the world works… Nothing is permanent here…

As I reached our room, I switched on my laptop to see some movie, even though I had no mood to do so…

 

To go back to the main page:

https://lapillus.wordpress.com/its-my-life/

To read the previous chapter:

https://lapillus.wordpress.com/2009/07/23/part-12-%e2%80%93-the-royal-feat/

To the next chapter:

https://lapillus.wordpress.com/2009/08/07/part-14-%e2%80%93-the-life-after%e2%80%a6/

Comments
  1. Deepthi says:

    Very well written….. I seriously am saying that you should try a hand in writing fiction 🙂 ….

  2. Rose says:

    u wont get all those days back!!!!!! That days are very very previous……………… eventhough those days were a mixture of sadness, anxiety, happiness, worries and what all things!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! as u said” all there in XIME would soon belong to someone else… to the new generation… Nothing could have been done about it then or later…”

    I also wish to go back to my college days…………… and once if i get a job over there, i will immediately join and settle over there………. we cant never forget all those days……………………………………..fact which everyone will accept…………………………..

    Even though i am not a students of XIME , i will feel bad if i go from here………. because memories……….from 12th batch to now the 15th batch………………… and all u guys………………….even if i was not attached to all of u…………………………….. and i miss everyone of u…………

    • Amal says:

      🙂 i agree… its different and precious…. same here… i miss u all…
      yes, nothing can be done about it… thats the way life moves….

  3. Angie Sau says:

    feel so nostalgic Amal ….

  4. El says:

    That’s it..movies
    I reckon it was a whole world of wonderful movies which kpet me alive those two years there 🙂
    Between..nice narration da
    Gud luck 🙂

  5. anit says:

    oh…my god…u bring me tears…..i feel how u felt then….

  6. Inder says:

    sorry for reading this so late..u know ur lazy room mate..
    u remember i was accidently thrown into your room by mr.easaw after we came back from our summers..
    now i want to thank him for his act, since i have found 2 real good friends..i will always cherish the time spent with u guys..
    jus want to say thanx..
    u rock champ!

  7. priyanka mathur says:

    u really write well……..all ur posts r amazin………..i m actually missin xime aftr readin all dis

Leave a Reply

